Minutes of the Rural Technical Coordinating Committee (RTCC) Meeting

April 19, 2023

10:00 a.m.

Call to Order

The April 19, 2023 RTCC meeting was held via Zoom. The RTCC Meeting was opened and called to order by RTCC Chairperson Rhett White at 10:07 a.m.

Roll Call

ARPO Director Angela Welsh determined a quorum was met with the following members in attendance: Ike McCree, Currituck County; Shelley Cox, Pasquotank County; Bill Rich, Hyde County; Rhett White, Town of Columbia; Frank Health, Perquimans County; Wes Haskett, Town of Southern Shores; Melody Clopton, Kitty Hawk; Doris Walton, Town of Hertford; Curtis Potter, Washington County; Craig Midgett, NCDOT; Samen Jeffers, NCDOT-TPD.

Others in attendance: Barry Hobbs, NCDOT

Agenda Approval

Bill Rich, Hyde County, motioned to approve the agenda as presented. Wes Hasket, Town of Southern Shores, seconded the motion. With no further discussion, the motion passed unanimously.

Approval/Adoption of Minutes from January 18, 2023 Meeting

Bill Rich, Hyde County, motioned to approve the January 18, 2023 Minutes. Shelley Cox, Pasquotank County, seconded the motion. With no further discussion, the motion passed unanimously.

APRO Mini-Grants Approval

ARPO Director Welsh discussed the mini-grant applications received from the Town of Duck, Town of Manteo and the Town of Kitty Hawk to publish bicycle and pedestrian related publications.

Wes Haskett, Town of Southern Shores, motioned to approve all three mini-grant applications as presented. Bill Rich, Hyde County, seconded the motion. With no further discussion, the motion passed unanimously.

FY 2023-2024 Planning Work Program Approval

ARPO Director Welsh discussed the FY 2023-2024 Planning Work Program.

Shelley Cox, Pasquotank County, motioned to approve the FY 2023-2024 Planning Work Program. Bill Rich, Hyde County, seconded the motion. With no further discussion, the motion carried unanimously.

Public Comment

None.

Adjournment

Chairperson White adjourned the meeting at 10:18 a.m.

ARPO Director Welsh introduced a new employee, William Kirkley. Mr. Kirkley is the Albemarle Commission's new Planner.

Presentations

NCDOT Update:

Craig Midgett provided a NCDOT update.

Ferry Update:

Jed Dixon provided a Ferry update.

TPD Update:

Samen Jeffers provided an update for the Transportation Planning Division.

Minutes of the Rural Technical Advisory Committee (RTAC) Meeting April 19, 2023

11:00 a.m.

Call to Order

The April 19, 2023 RTAC meeting was held via Zoom. The RTAC Meeting was opened and called to order by RTAC Chairperson Lloyd Griffin at 10:58 a.m.

Roll Call

ARPO Director Welsh determined a quorum was met with the following member in attendance:

Voting members: Wally Overman, Dare County; Bob White, Currituck County; Randal Matthews, Hyde County; Lloyd Griffin III, Pasquotank County; Carol Phelps, Washington County; John Spruill, Washington County (alternate and did not vote); Linda Hofler, Gates County.

Non-voting members: Paula Sherlock, Town of Southern Shores; Lynne McClean, Kitty Hawk; ARPO Director Welsh introduced the new members to the board.

Agenda Approval

Wally Overman, Dare County, motioned to approve the agenda as presented. Randal Matthews, Hyde County, seconded the motion. With no further discussion, the motion passed unanimously.

Approval/Adoption of Minutes from January 18, 2023 Meeting

Wally Overman, Dare County, motioned to approve the January 18, 2023 Minutes. Randal Matthews, Hyde County, seconded the motion. With no further discussion, the motion carried unanimously.

ARPO Mini-Grants Approval

ARPO Director Welsh discussed the mini-grant applications received from the Town of Duck, Town of Manteo and the Town of Kitty Hawk publish bicycle and pedestrian related publications.

Wally Overman, Dare County, motioned to approve the approve all three mini-grant applications as presented. Randal Matthews, Hyde County, seconded the motion. With no further discussion, the motion passed unanimously.

FY 2023-2024 Planning Work Program Approval

ARPO Director Welsh discussed the FY 2023-2024 Planning Work Program.

Randal Matthews, Hyde County, motioned to approve the FY 2023-2024 Planning Work Program. Wally Overman, Dare County, seconded the motion. With no further discussion, the motion carried unanimously.

Public Comment

None.

Adjournment

Chairperson Griffin adjourned the meeting at 11:15 a.m.

Respectfully Submitted,

Ashley Stallings Albemarle Commission

For

Angela Welsh, Secretary ARPO Director