Minutes of the Rural Technical Coordinating Committee (RTCC) Meeting September 13, 2023 10:00 a.m.

Call to Order

The September 13, 2023 RTCC meeting was held via Zoom. The RTCC Meeting was opened and called to order by RTCC Chairperson Rhett White at 10:05 a.m.

Roll Call

ARPO Director Angela Welsh determined a quorum was met with the following members in attendance: Ike McCree, Currituck County; Shelley Cox, Pasquotank County; Kevin Howard, Chowan County; Willie Midgett, Kitty Hawk; Bill Rich, Hyde County; David Clegg, Tyrrell County; Rhett White, Town of Columbia; Melissa Dickerson, Town of Manteo; Frank Health, Perquimans County; Wes Haskett, Town of Southern Shores; Joe Heard, Town of Duck; Curtis Potter, Washington County; Joe Costello, Nags Head; Brooks Braswell, NCDOT Div. 1; Beshad Norwozi, NCDOT-TPD.

Others in attendance: Win Bridgers, NCDOT; Ronnie Sawyer; Jed Dixon; David Roy, NC Turnpike; Patrick Norman, NC Turnpike; Catherine Peele, Ferry Division.

Agenda Approval

Frank Heath, Perquimans County, motioned to approve the agenda as presented. Kevin Howard, Chowan County seconded the motion. With no further discussion, the motion passed unanimously.

Approval/Adoption of Minutes from April 19, 2023 Meeting

Rhett White mentioned a correction to be made stating "Bill Rich, Tyrrell County" to be "Bill Rich, Hyde County". Frank Heath, Perquimans County, motioned to approve the April 19, 2023 Minutes with changes. Ike McCree, Currituck County, seconded the motion. With no further discussion, the motion passed unanimously.

Prioritization 7 Project List Approval

ARPO Director Welsh gave an overview of the Prioritization 7 Project List.

Bill Rich, Hyde County, motioned to approve the Prioritization 7 Project List as presented. Shelley Cox, Pasquotank County, seconded the motion. With no further discussion, the motion passed unanimously.

Public Comment

None.

Adjournment

Chairperson White adjourned the meeting at 10:18 a.m.

Ike McCree, Currituck County, motioned to adjourn the meeting. Kevin Howard, Chowan County, seconded the motion. With no further discussion, the motion passed unanimously.

Presentations

NCDOT Update:

Brooks Braswell provided a NCDOT update.

Ferry Update:

Catherine Peele provided a Ferry update.

TPD Update:

Beshad Norwozi provided an update for the Transportation Planning Division.

Minutes of the Rural Technical Advisory Committee (RTAC) Meeting September 13, 2023

11:00 a.m.

Call to Order

The September 13, 2023 RTAC meeting was held via Zoom. The RTAC Meeting was opened and called to order by RTAC Chairperson Lloyd Griffin at 10:58 a.m. Randal Matthews, Hyde County motioned to call the meeting to order. Wally Overman, Dare County seconded the motion.

Roll Call

ARPO Director Welsh determined a quorum was met with the following member in attendance:

Voting members: Wally Overman, Dare County; Larry McLaughlin, Chowan County; Bob White, Currituck County; Randal Matthews, Hyde County; Lloyd Griffin III, Pasquotank County; Carol Phelps, Washington County.

Non-voting members: Sandra Anderson, Town of Hertford.

Agenda Approval

Wally Overman, Dare County, motioned to approve the agenda as presented. Larry McLaughlin, Chowan County seconded the motion. With no further discussion, the motion passed unanimously.

Approval/Adoption of Minutes from April 19, 2023 Meeting

Larry McLaughlin, Chowan County, motioned to approve the April 19, 2023 Minutes. Bob White, Currituck County, seconded the motion. With no further discussion, the motion carried unanimously.

Prioritization 7 Project List Approval

Rhett White, Town of Columbia discussed the Prioritization 7 Project List.

Wally Overman, Dare County, motioned to approve the approve as presented. Randal Matthews, Hyde County, seconded the motion. With no further discussion, the motion passed unanimously.

Mid-Currituck Bridge Update Discussion

Win Bridgers, NCDOT gave a presentation on project updates. David Roy, NCDOT answered questions at the end of the presentation.

Public Comment

None.

Adjournment

Chairperson Griffin adjourned the meeting at 11:27 a.m. Wally Overman, Dare County motioned to adjourn the meeting. Bob White, Currituck County seconded the motion.

Respectfully Submitted,

Ashley Shepherd Albemarle Commission

For

Angela Welsh, Secretary ARPO Director