Minutes of the Rural Technical Coordinating Committee (RTCC) Meeting August 21, 2024

10:00 a.m.

Call to Order

The August 21, 2024 RTAC meeting was held via Zoom. The RTAC Meeting was opened and called to order by RTCC Vice- Chairperson Shelley Cox at 10:06 a.m.

Roll Call

ARPO Director Angela Welsh determined a quorum was met with the following members in attendance: Rebecca Gay, Currituck County; Shelley Cox, Pasquotank County; Kevin Howard, Chowan County; Bill Rich, Hyde County; David Clegg, Tyrrell County; Melissa Dickerson, Joe Heard, Town of Duck; Joe Costello, Nags Head; Curtis Potter, Washington County; Brooks Braswell, NCDOT Div. 1; Beshad Norwozi, NCDOT-TPD.

Agenda Approval

Joe Heard, Town of Duck motioned to approve the agenda, Carol Phelps, Bill Rich, Hyde County seconded the motion. With no further discussion, the motion passed unanimously.

Approval/Adoption of Minutes from April 17, 2024 Meeting

David Clegg, Tyrrell County, motioned to approve the April 17, 2024 Minutes. Bill Rich, Hyde County, seconded the motion. With no further discussion, the motion passed unanimously.

Regional Impact and Division Needs local point assignment

Director Welsh explained how local input points are allocated pursuant the ARPO's adopted Methodology. She presented the list of "Division Needs" and "Regional Impact" projects which were each allocated 100 points based on our Methodology. Melissa Dickerson, Town of Manteo, motioned to approve the Division Needs and Regional Impact points as presented. Joe Heard, Town of Duck, seconded the motion. With no further discussion, the motion passed unanimously.

Committed Project prioritization

Director Welsh explained that as part of the 2026-2035 Draft STIP, the NCDOT was seeking input from RPO's regarding priorities for existing committed projects. She went on to explain that by default the STIP unit was going to use the "Seniority" approach but that the ARPO RTAC could modify the rankings if they choose to do so. David Clegg, Tyrrell County motioned to approve the STIP Unity using the "seniority" approach. Kevin Howard, Chowan County, seconded the motion. With no further discussion, the motion passed unanimously.

Public Comments

None

<u>Adjournment</u>

Vice-Chairperson Cox adjourned the meeting at 11:00 a.m.

Presentations

All updates were forwarded to the ARPO RTCC and RTAC after the meetings via email.

Minutes of the Rural Technical Advisory Committee (RTAC) Meeting August 21, 2024

10:10 a.m.

Call to Order

The August 21, 2024 RTAC meeting was held via Zoom. The RTAC Meeting was opened and called to order by RTAC Chairperson Lloyd Griffin at 11:14 a.m.

Roll Call

Voting members: Wally Overman, Dare County; Randal Matthews, Hyde County; Lloyd Griffin III, Pasquotank County; Carol Phelps, Washington County; Linda Hofler, Gates County; Larry McLaughlin, Chowan County

Other members in attendance: Paula Sherlock, Southern Shores

Agenda Approval

Wally Overman, Dare County motioned to add the Mid-Currituck bridge discussion to the agenda, Randal Matthews, Hyde County, seconded the motion. With no further discussion, the motion passed unanimously.

Approval/Adoption of Minutes from April 17, 2024 Meeting

Larry McLaughlin, Chowan County, motioned to approve the April 17, 2024 Minutes. Carol Phelps, Washington County, seconded the motion. With no further discussion, the motion passed unanimously.

Regional Impact and Division Needs local point assignment

Director Welsh explained how local input points are allocated pursuant to the ARPO's adopted Methodology. She presented the list of "Division Needs" and "Regional Impact" projects which were each allocated 100 points based on our Methodology. Randal Matthews, Hyde County, motioned to approve the Division Needs and Regional Impact points as presented. Wally Overman, Dare County, seconded the motion. With no further discussion, the motion passed unanimously.

Committed Project prioritization

Director Welsh explained that as part of the 2026-2035 Draft STIP, the NCDOT was seeking input from RPO's regarding priorities for existing committed projects. She went on to explain that by default the STIP unit was going to use the "Seniority" approach but that the ARPO RTAC could modify the rankings if they choose to do so. Carol Phelps, Washington County motioned to approve the STIP Unit using the "seniority" approach. Wally Overman, Dare County, seconded the motion. With no further discussion, the motion passed unanimously.

Mid-Currituck Bridge

NCDOT Division 1 provided the ARPO RTAC a presentation regarding a public-private partnership for the Mid-Currituck bridge and requested a resolution in support of doing so. Randal Matthews, Hyde County motioned to approve the resolution. Wally Overman, Dare County, seconded the motion. With no further discussion, the motion passed unanimously.

Public Comments

None

<u>Adjournment</u>

Chairperson Griffin adjourned the meeting at 11:41 a.m.

Respectfully Submitted,

Angela Welsh, Secretary ARPO Director